2

There was a question that just got deleted (~7:20 PM GMT, 2:20 PM EST) regarding a marathon runner and their using a friend's image/name for the charity that they're running for. The question involved the friend, a veteran, committing suicide.

As I was viewing it in the review queue, the website told me that the question had been deleted. That seems a bit abrupt to me. There was one VTC and the question did seem beyond the scope of IPS and probably POB. But why deletion instead of regular putting on-hold then closing?

I mainly ask out of curiosity. My thinking is that there is some rule that we use here on IPS that I just don't know about.

| |
  • 2
    Hey Lux! I think this is a good (and completely valid) question in the case where something is deleted via moderator actions (whether from the community or unilaterally by a single mod). However, if you're just wondering how it happened, feel free to hop into our chatroom next time. There's almost always a high-rep user or three in there who can investigate for you! – scohe001 Dec 2 '19 at 19:41
  • @scohe001 I just assumed that it was moderator intervened. I was surprised by Em C's answer stating that it was self-deletion. – Lux Claridge Dec 2 '19 at 19:43
  • 4
    Trick: You can see that through the 404 error page if you still have a link (usually, there will be one in the chatroom as feeds post all question in there). A 404 page can show a question was deleted 'voluntarily by its author' or 'for reasons of moderation'. The first one is self-deleted, the second a deletion done by other users through vote or moderators. Another link: meta.stackexchange.com/a/5222/369802, under 'what does deletion mean for a post'. – Tinkeringbell Dec 2 '19 at 19:47
5

The question was deleted by the question asker, not a mod or community action. As mentioned in the comments - even if you don't have the reputation to view deleted questions, you should see a message like "This question was voluntarily removed by its author." (instead of "for reasons of moderation", which is what happens if other users delete it).

This article has info on how deleting questions works - since there weren't any answers yet, they were able to self-delete. I'm not sure why they deleted it, but if they want to undelete later (say, because they wanted to do edits without worrying about votes) they should be able to.

| |
  • It actually does say "reasons of moderation" when I open the page in incognito. – Belle Dec 4 '19 at 16:24
  • @Belle I believe that's because the user removed their account, so there's no user to attribute the deletion too (but not too certain on that). – scohe001 Dec 4 '19 at 16:31

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .